Skip to content

looking for a story

December 2, 2009

It’s sometimes surprising to me how invisible the story of an institution can be even from within. The UD website proper strikes me as somehow to shamefacedly disregard the weight and beauty, the story of the institution it represents.

When I say “story” I don’t mean a record of development, a cluster of related events, or even the portraits of remarkable characters, although story touches all these things. I mean something more like the manner of speaking that lovingly, carefully, even a little fearfully touches what it tells, so as not to heedlessly disturb great sleeping presences–while it, however obliquely, remembers and honors and learns from them.

Recently, I found this. Off the “official” website, one of our real mages seems to have a story to tell.
http://www.udallasclassics.org/history.html
Wonderful.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Finny permalink
    December 3, 2009 9:57 am

    What an awesome story. You’re right about the UD website. If it were ever so slightly more in touch with the actual University then it is at present (it need not even have been as in touch with the life of the institution as this link is,) I doubt that I would have been able to keep myself away this long. All of the times when I had doubts and looked at the UD website in hopes of being inspired probably would have ended with my immediately booking a plane ticket to Dallas.

  2. rainscape permalink*
    December 3, 2009 11:00 am

    I actually even had you particularly in mind when I wrote this!

Leave a Reply

