Skip to content

and the winners are …

April 6, 2009

Izzy P will receive the complete (to date) three volumes of the Grub Street Grackle!
Tomas will receive a subscription!
Kateri, Melissa A, and Becca will each receive their choice of any issue of the Grackle (past, present, or future)!

I will send the Grackles to you or a friend of your choice. Skreak about it! Be a bad bird!

To the 25 losers: you took a risk, your chances were good, you elected not to bribe me, you lost. Too bad for both of our sakes.

The good news is that the eye of the Grackle is on you … and you cannot escape! The grackle sizes its prey from afar, looks alternately with the horror of tragedy, the world-restoring laughter of comedy, and the hyperbolic pretenses of mock mock epic; you cannot escape in sleepy back-water towns, littered back-alleys, or the midnight underground where the brotherhood of genres shake hands on their clandestine swaps and bargains over whiskey and a battered deck of cards, for the grackle follows the elusive scent of the ninja on the invisible thread that winds story into story.

In short, you may pay the token fee to subscribe, but in your heart of hearts already you’re an addict, you’ve already committed the crime or whispered the magic phrase, … you’ve taken that whatever secret step that makes you a bad bird as well!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Finny permalink
    April 7, 2009 7:39 am

    Crap. I shouldn’t have signed up so early. Obviously my name was on the bottom of the bowl.
    But, on the brighter side, this means that I get to contribute money to the Grackle project when I want to read an issue! So I am financially invested in this project of world domination. Up the Rebels! Hurrah!

  2. April 7, 2009 9:45 am

    I am mailing my subscription check today and encourage fellow losers to do the same.

  3. rebecca y permalink
    April 7, 2009 9:51 am

    Am I Becca, or is there another one?

  4. rainscape permalink*
    April 7, 2009 9:57 am

    I’m sorry, you’re not … you’re “rebecca y.” To try and prevent as much confusion as possible, I’m calling people what they’ve called themselves.

  5. rebecca y permalink
    April 7, 2009 10:26 am

    aw man, i was so excited for a minute there. <:(

  6. Theresa E permalink
    April 7, 2009 3:07 pm

    Hehehe. I’m laughing just because this was fun! I hope you had a good birthday into the deal!

  7. Becca permalink
    April 8, 2009 11:31 am

    Hey wow!

  8. redwinevinegar permalink
    April 9, 2009 8:55 pm

    Nice. I think this is the second one of these types of things I have ever won.

Leave a Reply

